Innovation, Creativity…. and High Power Lines

My dear childhood friend, Nancy, is a fabulous photographer. Some of her photographs are unusual and artistic. Others are ethereal and magical. All are brilliant. Whenever I look at her work, I am awed by her creativity and imagination.

Recently, she shared some photos on Facebook of an overgrown area under a network of high power lines. She described in the post the feeling of live energy in the area and the buzz of electromagnetism she could feel in her head. The photos were beautiful, but I felt I needed to warn her about the risks of exposure to such energy fields. So I posted a friendly facebook “like” to her picture and pointed out that high voltage power lines can emit an electromagnetic field so powerful that an unplugged flourescent light tube will actually glow. That’s right, the electricity in the air can actually light an unplugged light bulb! That can’t be good, right?

To me, the image of the glowing light tube was meant as a warning of danger. This was something unnatural, worrisome, an abomination of science…kinda like Godzilla or Mothra rising up from the Pacific ocean. To my friend however, the image was a challenge. Her creative, innovative mind immediately yelled “Ignore the warnings! And pack up the camera! Grab a flourescent light tube! We are going back to the power lines!”

So I started wondering if Nancy’s creative and artistic abilitites and her gutsy approach to life could be related.

Nancy was always braver than me. As kids, she had no problem diving from a high board, doing a perfect pike. I was lucky if I could pull off a cannon ball without moderate anxiety. And the diving board wasn’t even that high! Once, when we were teenagers, a boy she liked told her he was going to jump the train and asked her to go with him. Slow moving cargo trains regularly traveled behind our development and kids would brag that they could jump aboard and travel a ways before jumping back off. To this day, I don’t remember if she actually did it. But she was seriously considering it, that’s for sure. And just thinking about it now is giving me hives.

So you may have guessed that I am not a big risk taker. I like when life is predictable and calm, without too much excitement. I don’t like roller coasters or scary movies and I worry alot about things like hurricanes and tornadoes. So again, I am not a risk taker.

I have always been like this. As a kid, my mother never asked the redundant question, “If everyone jumped off a bridge, would you jump too?” because she knew darn well that I would never be on any bridge that didn’t have a proper height guard rail for safety, no matter where my friends were.

But thinking again about Nancy’s adventurous spirit and the gorgeous photography it inspires, I have to ask myself if by clinging to things that are safe and scheduled, am I possibly stifling my own creative spirit? Would a bit more adventure in my life help with my own artistic process? Would my RoofTop Creations craft business benefit if I got out there and took some risks, experienced a little adrenaline? Hmmmmm……

This is definitely one to think on. So maybe tonight, just maybe….I think I will start watching a scary movie! I will let you know later if I actually finish it!

One of Nancy's great photographs

One of Nancy’s great photographs

These flourescent tubes make great light sabers! From a great photo site called 808.dk:  http://www.808.dk/pv.asp?p=Fluorescent_tubes_under_power_lines.jpg&g=photos-denmark

These flourescent tubes make great light sabers! From a great photo site called 808.dk: http://www.808.dk/pv.asp?p=Fluorescent_tubes_under_power_lines.jpg&g=photos-denmark

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in crafts, health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Innovation, Creativity…. and High Power Lines

  1. being an artist is in itself brave and adventurous! thanks for stopping by my blog! funny that we wrote about similar things today. 🙂

  2. Nancy Misiewicz says:

    oh i jumped that train several times!! come on lisa it moved so slow, you could walk and catch up with it. omg, i love this!! that video is HILARIOUS! so you!!! remember camping at big bear shenandoah (when i was pregnant 19 years ago) and you were totally against anyone leaving even a crumb on the picknick table because the black bears would come and eat us!! hilarious!! keith and i still laugh at that! love you friend! this was such a joy to read!

  3. Bears do eat people! (Not black bears so much…but some bears do!) I maintain that someday, you and Keith (and all our friends) will thank me for my careful consideration to safety! Love you guys very much!

  4. Nancy Misiewicz says:

    okay, so i read this post again (because I wanted to), and i don’t know lisa, i love you the way you are. for god’s sake, if i don’t have you, who’s gonna take care of me? but i think I can teach you a thing or two. let’s go to big bear, i can teach you not to be afraid of crumbs on the picnick table or maybe we can jump off a cliff into deep blue waters, who knows?

  5. Nanc, you know damn well that I am not jumping off a cliff! Ever! But we can go camping. I am working on the fear of bears thing…Hey, I’m a work in progress! Camping is a definite talking point.

  6. scrapsecrets says:

    I wouldn’t have jumped off the bridge either Lisa! I think it’s funny that we don’t consider ourselves brave when every day we put our work out there for others to judge. Opening an Etsy shop and writing a blog take courage. I think we both need to give ourselves more credit!! Great post!

  7. So what scary movie are we talking about here? Jumping right in on The Exorcist or taking it more tame with a Scream movie? I seem to recall you watching Friday the 13th part “N” at some point. Maybe I can help suggesting something.

  8. Lisa, Matt shared the blog with me. I hope you don’t mind. I think your writing is wonderful and entertaining. You should consider writing to a magazine and see if they would let you write an article. See, you have other talents besides your crafting creativity. Playing it safe and being creative are not mutually exclusive.

    • Thanks Deb! I’v always enjoyed writing, at least when I have something to say. And Matt- I used to go to scary movies as a teenager, cause “everybody was doing it.” I guess I did succumb to peer pressure after all! Now, I will watch some, if they are smart as well as scary (but not too scary!) But it has to be on video, cause I need the option of turning it off! And the fellow who took the photo of the light sabers under the power lines sent me an email with instructions for getting the best pictures under power lines. I guess I should eventually send them to Nancy!

  9. By the way, last comment was not from Matt, it was from his girlfriend Debbie. So as not to think Matt wrote the comment.

  10. Found you through Upcyclers Etsy team. Like what you question about staying in the safe zone. Good reminder. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

