Thrift store shopping, rap music….and a way cooler me!

Singing in the car is a guilty pleasure of mine. So the other day, I was driving along, belting out one of my new favorites….”I’m gonna pop some tags… Only got twenty dollars in my pocket….I, I, I’m hunting’, lookin for a come up….this is f***ing awesome.”

The popular rap song Thrift Shop by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis makes me……..well…….it makes me happy! The song talks about finding values at the Goodwill and other thrift shops and Macklemore smartly asks why he should pay $50 for a new designer shirt that everyone thinks is the latest trend, only to visit a club and find six others wearing the same shirt. The song is funny…and you all know I love thrift shops! So this rap song has a message that speaks to me!

Now rap is not the musical genre that you will typically overhear from my car if you are stopped near me at a red light. You might hear some alternative rock or some oldies, but if I am gonna be perfectly honest, you are most likely to hear the soundtrack from Les Miserable, or maybe the Best of Abba. And if it is Les Mis, I might be softly crying too as I sing along!

But rap music?……and me? I am a middle aged woman from the suburbs, with about as much “street cred” as a kindergarten teacher or a reference librarian (no offense meant to librarians or teachers, of course!). So tapping along to rap is a change. And luckily for me and my squeaky clean librarian image, my local radio station bleeps out the F-bombs. Thank goodness that I am too cheap for satellite radio!

So the rapper Macklemore and I have something in common! Who would have thought? He loves thrift shops….I love thrift shops! And when I head out to look for bargains, I am hunting, like him, and “lookin for a come up!!”

Now, I had to look in the Urban Dictionary for this “lookin for a come up” line, cause I am a little behind on my urban street lingo….I mean, I haven’t even seen 8 Mile with Eminem! I did see Malibu’s Most Wanted with Jamie Kennedy…but I think that made my knowledge of rap music slang WORSE!

So I looked up a “come up”…..because I was worried. Let’s face it, it sounds like it could be a little bit dirty. But urbandictionary.com quickly reassured me that the definition of a come up simply means to come upon something unexpectantly or to find something valuable.

Wow! So whenever I go yard sale or thrift shopping, I am totally looking for a come up! To improve my rap-coolness quotient, I have now set the personal goal of trying to incorporate this phrase into my regular speech. I can’t wait to visit the Almonesson Methodist Church Thrift Shop and tell the senior citizen ladies who run the shop that I am lookin’ for a come up. I know that they will show me new found respect and give me props! I think I am getting cooler already!

And speaking of come ups, my last vist to the Almonesson Methodist Church Thrift Shop did result in a serious come up! I bought four old cigar boxes for $2 each. They are nice solid boxes that could be used for so many things. The only drawback was their labels. The cigar brand is called Acid Cigars and the labels were flourescent and pictured the silhouette of a guy with weird hair on a motorcycle. I just can’t see these boxes holding my jewelry… or my embroidery floss….or makeup…or anything!

DSCN0395

So I set about to upcycle those boxes and make that “come up” into something not just useful….but beautiful. Check them out.

DSCN0402

So thanks to Macklemore, thrift shopping is becoming a little bit cooler with everyone……and I am getting cooler too…..at least in my own imagination! I think I will listen to rap more often! Does the Sugar Hill Gang still count as rap? “Apache….Jump on it, Jump on it, Jump on it.” That one, I can totally sing in the car!

And just in case you don’t follow rap (unlike me!), here is a link to Thrift Shop. I must warn, however, that this is uncensored. If you are a kindergarten teacher or reference librarian, brace yourself!

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in crafts, Uncategorized, upcycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thrift store shopping, rap music….and a way cooler me!

  1. Jess boody says:

    Is there anything you can’t do? 🙂 very nice job

  2. Jess…thanks for the confidence….it is true that I can upcycle an old cigar box and I can knit a scarf!. But I can’t change a tire, and I can’t set up an Excel spreadsheet, and I can’t make a decent cake from scratch!…..oh the list goes on and on! Each of us has our own skill set. We all just need to do our best with what we can!

  3. Lisa, you definitely found a come up with these boxes – they turned out gorgeous! Love the post – so funny!

  4. lovemyarts says:

    I love your blog! I will be happy to follow you and learn more on your projects! And thank you for having liked my post, wish you a great day! 🙂

  5. “I can’t wait to visit the Almonesson Methodist Church Thrift Shop and tell the senior citizen ladies who run the shop that I am lookin’ for a come up.”

    I laughed out loud, having grown up going to the Methodist Ladies’ Church Bazaar every year…my fave line…”John Wayne got nothin’ on my fringe game Hello!”

  6. Loretta says:

    This made me so much!

  7. Matt Lashendock says:

    I have heard you sing. I think rap is an excellent for you. 🙂

  8. I really enjoyed reading this post! Looking for a come up certainly seems to be my new hobby, and great work on the cigar boxes!

Leave a Reply

