“This is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things!”

On Mother’s Day, I’d like to repeat the words of mothers worldwide:  “THIS IS WHY WE CAN’T HAVE NICE THINGS!”

You’ve said it. I’ve said it. I’ve even shouted it. And without fail, we will all say it again.

When it comes to my two sons, my favorite “This is why we can’t have nice things” moments are as follows:

  •  when one of my children colored on the dining room wall.
  •  when another put playdough in the VHS player.
  • when the plumber used a drain snake on our toilet and eventually pulled out a teenage mutant ninja turtle action figure (I think it was Donatello).  The toilet enamel was cracked, but the action figure was intact.

Should I continue or do you get the point?  Simply put: Children mess up your house!  They break things and lose things and spill things and just mess things up. But we love them dearly and we teach them, and they get older faster than we expect.  Once they are grown, they still mess up your stuff once in awhile…..but it is alot less often, so everyone is happy!

But what about this kid?

By all standards, he is a grown up. And my back yard looks like a mine field.  Other people have yards that resemble golf courses. But my back yard looks like a pirate is still looking for his lost treasure.  And in my yard, you have to be particularly careful not to break an ankle.

Maybe I should use “This is why we can’t have nice things!!” on him…… If RoofTop Chalie could talk, what would he say to that?

RoofTop Chalie is happy in his giant hole under the apple tree.

RoofTop Chalie is happy in his giant hole under the apple tree.

Well, let’s think about that. RoofTop Chalie is the king of leisure and he could care less about appearances…..

I imagine his response would sound like this:  “Of course we have nice things, you silly, silly human….Just look at this wonderful hole!”  I am using this one presently, but there are plenty of others in this yard.  Just lie down in one and relax!  And if you get bored, just dig a new one.  Why would you say we don’t have nice things?  THIS IS THE NICEST YARD IN THE WORLD!”

Words of wisdom from Chalie the greyhound! So this Mother’s Day, and every day, try not to sweat the small stuff. If your house isn’t perfect and there’s crayon on the walls….or your yard needs work and the grass won’t grow….it’s all good. Cause when we are together with our families, we are in the nicest place in the world and we really do have nice things!! But if you visit my yard, please be careful….I don’t want you to break an ankle!

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in greyhound, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “This is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things!”

  1. Fibro Feist says:

    Oh my goodness, this had me rolling in laughter. I live the EXACT.SAME.LIFE. My backyard has suffered the same injustice. Ah, but life goes on! And our puppies are happy :).

  2. He really does look blissfully happy. I can’t imagine the boy that threw Donatello down the toilet got as much joy out of that action figure drowning.

  3. I have a hole just like that in my own garden. It’s a soopa hole.

  4. Steven Squillace says:

    I have To agree Lisa, children and pets can disrupt a house both inside and out, That’s for sure,
    but I do have to say I wouldn’t trade any of my children or pets for the world. Figure it this way if we didn’t have something in our lives to disrupt us every now and again we would be bored to death.

Leave a Reply

