Peace, Love, and Pumpkin Wars

pumpkin_peace_sign_sticker_circle_4_25-555pxWith autumn and Halloween just around the corner, I am remembering an upcycling  tradition (well sort of) that Joe and I once participated in at this time of year…….

The invitation was for the First Annual Pumpkin Demolition Derby.  My friends Amy and Scott had invited us to attend a backyard competition that looked like a cross between a techno-nerdy robot war and a Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome cage match.  The idea was for two competitors to each send a pumpkin down opposing ramps and to allow the pumpkins to smash into each other.  The pumpkin with the least damage would win and move on to the next match.  Sounds simple…..right?  But here was the catch:  the pumpkins could ride in or be held in any vehicle or contraption that the competitors could envision and build.  Plus the invitation encouraged vehement trash talk, and of course, the bribing of the judges. 

Not long after reading the invitation, my husband was digging through the basement for old skateboards and outgrown rollerblades and he had various sharp and pointy objects, including kitchen knives, saws, and screwdrivers spread around his work space.  I could see his creative AND violent wheels spinning as he thought of dangerous designs for his pumpkin vehicle.

Now if you know me, you know that I am a big fan of upcycling or repurposing.  So using cast-off  or outgrown toys and broken tools and building something new with them is right up my alley.  But if you really know me, then you also know that I worry about safety….A LOT.  And all those knives and saws were making me nervous……so I decided to enter the competition, but to take more of a Quaker-like approach.  One pumpkin and five layers of bubble wrap and I was ready!

And that first year…..pacifism was KING!  I took the first prize with my defense-only strategy and got to spout off about the evils of warfare for anyone who wanted to listen!

P1010031

Over the years, the competitors came up with more creative ideas.  We saw toy baby strollers head down the ramp, and well as disassembled lawn mowers, and even this disturbing fellow……….

DCP_0024

But by that second year, the competitors who really wanted to win had worked out how to pimp truly dangerous  pumpkin rides!  And my bubble-wrap pumpkin TRIED in vain to defend her title……………

100_3129a

My boo-boo face in this photo of a younger and thinner me is fake, but the blade that was left behind in the pumpkin was real!  (You may not see it easily in this photo, but there is a knife blade stuck there alright!…..oh the agony!)

Other competitors tried my peace-loving approach too, including my favorite, a pumpkin taped to a roller board with hand-written messages of anti-pumpkin violence…..messages like “Give Peas a Chance”….and “Make Love, Not Pie!”…..and “No Nukes” (with a drawing of a pumpkin-cooking microwave).  Sadly, this pumpkin succumbed in the first round.

DCP_0022

And the pumpkin named Pad-Boy, who was oh so cute and obviously a fan of all things sanitary, died an early death as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are a few of the many serious contenders:

DCP_0007

DCP_0003

100_3090

DCP_0001

Sadly, Amy and Scott moved far away and for us….the days of the pumpkin demolition derby passed away.   I emailed her today to catch up, remembering good times and missing my funny and brave friend. After all, no one else would have hosted this event every year without liability insurance and waivers signed by the contestants.  Cause did you see those spikes?……Yikes!!

===================================================

As always, I encourage you all to be fans of peace and love.  But if you need to wage war, let it be a pumpkin war…. one with plenty of violence but no real casualties!  And you’ll have lots of pumpkin seeds to roast and enjoy when the competition is done. (But do get liability insurance and waivers….cause did you see those spikes?!  Yikes!)

=====================================================

If you enjoy RoofTop’s Blog, please consider subscribing or following by email.  Simply add your email in the box to the right and click the “follow” button.  You will be notified by email whenever Lisa has a new post.  

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Peace, Love, and Pumpkin Wars

  1. Lisa, as a fellow peace-loving eco gal, I give you many kudos for your non-violent pumpkin! But I must admit, I am still cracking up over that photo of Frankie the Flusher…so funny! Awesome post and pix!

  2. Erin – there were so many amazing entries! Lots of creativity! And that doll kept coming back each year in different incarnations….but all equally creepy!

  3. I nominated you for a versatile blogger award, I enjoy reading your blog very much and all your unique crafts and creations. I wanted to say thank you! : )

  4. pokedpotato says:

    OH. MY. GOSH. This is awesome!!! I love this post. Last year, my son (then 3) was completely obsessed with a pumpkin cannon that we saw shooting pumpkins at an out-of-state pumpkin farm. I don’t know if we will be back this year, but he would LOVE to do something like this. Thanks for the awesome post!!

  5. bzfingers says:

    Looks like a lot of fun! Creativity “pumps”!
    🙂 Have a wonderful week ❤

  6. Good times! Even though the Hell Hammer and my other entries failed.

Leave a Reply

