Waste Not, Want Not!

The gal from our church’s thrift shop, the Upper Room Thrift, had asked Joe to carry parts of two old twin-size beds out to the trash.  “Unfortunately, we can’t sell them like that,” she said.  “We have the head boards and foot boards but we don’t have the rest of the frames.  No one will buy them without the slats that hold it all together.  They’re nice solid wood, but you can’t assemble the beds.  It’s a real shame, but it all just has to get thrown out.”

Hmmmmm……….

Now, you all know how I hate to see ANYTHING thrown out.  When I see something valuable or useful in the trash…..I just can’t resist!

But Joe is not a fan of me bringing things home just because I might find a use for them… someday.  For Joe, I need to show that the item I save from the dump has a legitimate use RIGHT NOW!

So thanks to the power of Google, Pinterest and the BlogSphere…..I found a legitimate use for those headboards!  And Joe and Jake, who were gracious enough to take on an afternoon project, went to work…..

Check it out!

Joe and Jake decided to use the taller pieces, which had been the top bunk.

After a few measurements, Joe and Jake decided to use two head boards for this project.

One had to be cut down a bit.

They cut one of the headboards in half and trimmed its legs.

They added reinforcement from the arsenal of spare wood that is my basement.

They added reinforcement from the arsenal of spare wood that lives in my basement.

They framed it ot.

And just like that, they framed out a seat.

And built a seat.

And before they knew it…..those bed parts had been upcycled into a bench!

A little paint and it was ready for sitting!

Painting and finishing were my assignments…..and soon the bench was ready for sitting!

The headboard bench is a solid piece of furniture and it will look even better in its new home on the front porch!  What a great afternoon project!

Jake.....proud of his craftmanship!

Jake…..proud of his craftmanship!

So waste not….want not….right?   That bed frame did not go to waste and I got what I really, really wanted……a funky, one-of-a-kind, upcycled bench for my front porch. Ironically, I never knew how much I wanted a bench made out of a headboard until now! 

Now the challenge is what to do with those footboards.   Garden fencing?……or maybe a close-to-the-ground bench of some kind?…..with a cushion, maybe a little-dog bed or a cat bed?  Dang….I brought those footboards home, so I need to find a LEGITIMATE use for them!  Yikes! I’d better get searching the internet….because if I have to get a little dog or a cat …… RoofTop Chalie will NOT be happy!

…………………………………………………………………………

 If you enjoy RoofTop’s Blog, please consider “subscribing” or following by email.  Simply add your email in the box at the top right of this page and click the “follow” button.  You will be notified by email whenever Lisa has a new post.  

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Waste Not, Want Not!

  1. Lisa, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – you truly are the MacGyver of upcycling!

    • Thanks Erin- but this one really belonged to the boys….I showed them some internet and blog links and then left them alone. I worked on my own projects inside the house and occasionally went out to the backyard to check on their progress and to snap a picture. I was only in charge of paint and waterproofing!

  2. Great reuse of material! I love it!

  3. This is amazing! I love this!!!!!!! Tell the boys great job! I wish I was good with a saw!

    • Thanks to Joe, I have learned my way around power sanders and soldering irons….but that is about as far as I go with power tools. I am very grateful that Joe does all of the sawing for my RoofTop craft shop coasters!

      And by the way….I LOVE your upcycling projects! You give me inspiration whenever I am thrift shopping.

  4. Yummygal says:

    Love the upcycling rooftop! What a creative way to use the boards. You can’t find solid pieces like that anymore!

  5. bzfingers says:

    Great projects! Love to give seond life to things 🙂 Go up-cycling!

Leave a Reply

