Anniversaries

The first anniversary of the Open Government Partnership,

“Grow old with me…..the best is yet to be.”    – Robert Browning

Anniversaries are times to celebrate.  But anniversaries are also times to reflect.  We get nostalgic, and we ask questions.

We ask questions like…..in this partnership, where have we been so far?  Are we okay?  And where are we headed?  Is it all good or could we be doing better here?  What can I do to make it better? And more importantly…….am I happy?   And most importantly…….am I making my other half happy?   Am I REALLY making….. them….. happy?  Am I good enough to continue to make them happy?

Today, I received a notification from Word Press that today was the one year anniversary of this blog!!  So Happy Anniversary to me.   And Happy Anniversary to YOU, my wonderful readers!  

So in the spirit of nostalgia, I wanted you to know how it began.

The afternoon before I wrote that very first RoofTop post, I had hosted a meeting at my home of the South Jersey Etsy team, a group of local crafters and artist who all sell their wares on the website Etsy.  These fun and super creative people always inspire me and many were working on new ways to promote their  craft businesses.  Many had started blogs to talk about their crafting endeavors and they strongly encouraged me to do the same.  But when I read their blogs….they were mainly about their products.  These folks wrote about making their products and selling their products….and somehow their blogs WORKED.  

But for me, I just couldn’t write a blog that was about making coasters.  Now you all know that I love drink coasters and make all kinds of fun and funky ones.  But let’s face it…..a blog about coasters would’ve been super boring….and clearly stupid.  Right?  What reasonable and self-respecting person would read a coaster blog?

But to try and find a demographic group to target, I actually googled the words “people who love coasters.” But every single hit was about adrenaline junkies who love roller coasters….and no matter how I rephrased my words…..I never found a single post about the lovers of drink coasters.   I did find people willing travel at 125 miles per hour and to be plunged straight down from 450 feet…..but no one seemed to be quite as excited about preventing water rings on the coffee table!

So instead, I wrote a blog that was about many, many things. This past year, my blog has been about my sweet greyhound, and craft shop mascot, RoofTop Chalie.  And it’s been about thrift shopping and yard sales and trash picking.  And it’s been about my awesome husband and my smart and funny boys and about parenting and raising decent kids.  Plus there were entries about a man on an old-timey bike and about a girl in a dress made from an old flour sack.  And there was stuff about refinishing furniture and upcycling old record albums and Broadway musicals.  And then, of course,  there was the rap music and my street-cred….and my double-secret love affairs (in my mind) with the rapper Macklemore and with the surf-cutie Jack Johnson……and, oh yeah……there was a little bit about the coasters!! (The drink kind…..not the thrill seeking kind!)

Anniversaries.  They make us reflect.  And they make us ask questions.

So this year, I pledge that I will continue to try hard to earn your readership.  I promise that I will do my best to write pieces that you want to read and pieces that will interest you.  But I must confess that there will be no roller coaster pieces. While my early google searches made it clear that a roller coaster blog would do very well……if you have read even a tiny bit of this blog…..you know that I am terrified of all things dangerous or thrilling……and roller coasters in particular!

So this year…..”Grow old with me.  The best is yet to be.”

But let’s be very, very clear….there will be NO roller coaster or thrill seeking posts of any kind!    

And Happy Anniversary to you and to me!  

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anniversaries

  1. Happy Anniversary, Lisa’s Blog. For the record I will read about coasters of either type, although if I know you I know the chances of getting you on a rollercoaster are slim to none.

  2. sharon Bingaman Carrozza says:

    a very big Happy Anniversary to you and the blog and wishes for many more to come. I really enjoy it

  3. Loretta says:

    I was just thinking it had been awhile since I heard from RoofTop when I saw your post. Great year! Happy Blogday.

  4. Nicole Lake says:

    Happy anniversary!!! Love reading your blogs because they are written just like you speak. And I miss you lots 🙂

Leave a Reply

