Craft Room Daydreams

My friend Michele has an actual craft room.  It has a work table and shelves and little compartments for her crafting goodies.  I, however, am not so fortunate.  Extra space in my home is sparse, so my work space is often my dining room table or maybe my living room coffee table and sometimes even my office desk at work.

In my grade school, space was an issue too.  But back then, we had one special  room that wore many hats.  And before you interject, of course a room can wear hats!  That single room acted as gymnasium at 10 am for gym class dodge ball, as lunchroom at noon for fish sticks, and as auditorium at 3 pm for orchestra rehearsal.  And we called it what it was: the multipurpose room.

Mr. Gambone, the school janitor, could switch that room over from one activity to the next in minutes flat.  Now I know that the word janitor is no longer politically correct.  Today we’d refer to him as the custodian or maybe the maintenance man.  But with all that room rearranging from lunch, to school plays, to school assemblies, we really should have referred to Mr. Gambone as a multipurpose room magician.

Now if you don’t have your own personal Mr. Gambone and if you have the luxury of space, rooms that are dedicated to just one purpose do have some advantage.   A single-purpose room can be outfitted with specialized equipment and stuff can be left in place.  Tables stay put.  Chairs and music stands remain lined up and ready for the next rehearsal.  And back at my grade school, Mr. Gambone could have spent his time on more important pursuits.  Like playing the stock market or maybe doing the sudoko.

So with all these perks of a single hat room, it is no surprise that most artsy folks desire a  dedicated craft room of their own!  Hour for hour, crafters will daydream about craft rooms almost as frequently as they daydream about quitting their day jobs to work the craft show circuit full time.  And while most know that these are just pipe dreams (or pipe cleaner dreams if you want to be crafty), some crafters still fritter away too many days scouring Pinterest boards of other people’s craft rooms, and scanning pin after pin of Martha Stewart’s assortment of baskets and spools and boxes and built-in wall units.  The hours tick away and our crafters click and click that mouse, when more practical things could be accomplished instead; things like plucking the strands of yarn out of their hair, peeling the dried modge podge from under their nails, scrubbing the smeared paint from their cheeks and maybe cleaning their houses or taking a shower.  (Hey- crafting really can get all-consuming for some!)

I, however, embrace and appreciate the multipurpose craft room.  Working on projects in the common areas of my home allows me to spend time with my family.  I work on coasters while I watch DVRs of Jimmy Fallon with Joe or I knit while Jake does homework.  Perhaps I’d be more productive in my own craft room, but I enjoy the company and my kin keep me socially appropriate and will certainly let me know if I inadvertently become embellished in bits of my own craft supplies.  No cork pieces in my hair or ink on my face!

The one big downside for me and my multipurpose room right now is that with two craft shows next week and Christmas season looming upon me, my multipurpose room has become a multipurpose house.  Tonight, I have ceramic and wood coasters drying on almost every flat surface in sight.

So the multipurpose craft space has advantages and disadvantages. And the craft room daydream continues to linger in every creative mind, even mine.

Eventually, I guess I will have to get this place cleaned up.  Tomorrow, I will have to tap into the spirit of Mr Gambone and return these rooms to the dining room and living room that they should be.

Or instead, I could just ignore this wide spread workspace and spend some time on Pinterest.  But I will be sure to shower first, don’t worry.  I have my craft habit under control.

My dining room/craft room/ multipurpose room. Obviously, dinner was served buffer style from the kitchen for a few days.

My dining room/craft room/ multipurpose room.    Obviously, dinner had to be served buffet style from the kitchen for a few days.  Luckily, my family is incredibly patient!  

______________________________________________________________

If you enjoy RoofTop’s Blog, please consider “following” RoofTop by email.  Simply add your email address in the box at the top right of this page and click the “follow” button.  You will be notified by email whenever Lisa has a new post.  RoofTop also LOVES comments, so share what you think!

About RoofTop Creations

My name is Lisa and I have a craft business/hobby called RoofTop Creations where I use repurposed materials to make useful housewares. This blog is about my crafting process and what inspires me. It is also about my shop's mascot, RoofTop Chalie, my repurposed racing greyhound.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Craft Room Daydreams

  1. Dawn says:

    That is my dining room table when I break out the scrapbooking. We either eat in the living room or the kids help me move everything. They usually choose to eat in the living room….lol Luckily I don’t scrapbook over the holidays.

  2. shirl18@comcast.net says:

    Great Lisa, another chapter in your book—Shirley

  3. Good old Mr. Gambone. Such a positive person. He was great.

    I always thought of it as the “All-Purpose” Room. Spent many an hour playing clarinet in there before school started in Mr Pan’s concert band.

    • Yeah, now that my memory is jogged, it was an ALL-purpose room! It was a room that didn’t have many uses….it had ALL uses! I don’t imagine I will even get to a point that I’d refer to any room in my home as an all-purpose room, though. There are limits, after all!

Leave a Reply

